Herzog & de Meuron

Herzog & de Meuron (founded 1978)

Herzog & de Meuron is a Swiss architecture firm founded in 1978 in Basel, Switzerland. It´s a cooperation between the both architects Jacques Herzog (born April 4, 1950 in Basel) and Pierre de Meuron (born May 5, 1950 in Basel). They both studied at the ETH in Zurich. They have several bureaus in London, Munich, Barcelona, San Francisco and Tokyo. Jacques Herzog, Pierre de Meuron, Harry Gugger, Christine Binswanger, Robert Hösl, Ascan Mergenthaler  and Stefan Marbach are the key architects of the company. Herzog and de Meuron are both teachers at the ETH Zurich and at Harvard University. They are internationally known for their work on Tate Modern in London.
They designed the Stadiums St. Jakob Park in Basel and the Allianz Arena in Munich. Also the Beijing National Stadium for the Olympic Games in 2008. It is called the “Bird´s Nest”.
Herzog & de Meuron awarded the Pritzker Prize in 2001. It is the highest of honours in architecture.


Important works

Beijing National Stadium, Beijing, 2008
M.H. de Young Memorial Museum, San Francisco, 2005
Walker Art Center expansion, Minneapolis, 2005
Allianz Arena, Munich 2005
Forum Building, Barcelona, 2004
IKMZ, Cottbus, 2004
Laban Dance Centre, London, 2003
St. Jakob Park, Basel, 2001
Tate Modern, London, 2000
Dominus vinery, Napa Valley, 1999
SBB switch tower, Basel, 1997
Goetz Collection, Munich, 1992


Prizes and Awards

Pritzker Prize, 2001
Prix de l'Équerre d'Argent, 2001
Royal Gold Medal, 2007
Schock Prize, 1999
Stirling Prize, 2003