United Kingdom, London, Houses of Parliament

London, Houses of Parliament

The Houses of Parliament is the seat of the House of Lords and the House of Commons. In 1834 a fire destroyed the Palace of Westminster, leaving only the Jewel Tower, the crypt and cloister of St. Stephens and Westminster Hall intact, so Sir Charles Barry and Augustus Pugin were chosen to rebuild. They created a complex in neo gothic style and incorporated the buildings that survived the fire. It includes the Clock Tower, Victoria Tower, House of Commons, House of Lords, Westminster Hall and the Lobbies. The House of Commons was destroyed during the Second World War but rebuilt in 1950 by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott in the same neo gothic style. The House of Lords is where Her Majesty the Queen comes to open Parliament each November.

>>> Sir Barry Charles

>>> Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin

>>> Sir Giles Gilbert Scott

>>> The Houses of Parliament

>>> pricing for this image