The Pierhead Building is the administrative office for the port of Cardiff and the Visitor and Education centre for the national Assembly for Wales. This Grade One listed building was built in 1897 and designed by William Frame. It was a replacement for the headquarters of the Bute Dock Company which burnt down in 1892. The building is built in the French-Gothic-Renaissance architectural style and includes details like hexagonal chimneys, carved friezes, gargoyles, and a highly ornamental and distinctive clock tower. The building consists of stunning brick and terracotta’s.